Animal Health

Shanghai Model Organisms Center (SMOC) provides you with model mice that have been raised under specific pathogen-free (SPF) barriers. Since obtaining AAALAC-accreditation in 2012, Shanghai Model Organisms Center Co., Ltd. has adhered to the standards outlined in the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals (Guide). With an experienced team of veterinarians and researchers, advanced equipment, mature testing technologies and strict quality management system, SMOC guarantees consistent quality and is an ideal choice for your project.

Literature

Literature
Download

Shanghai Model Organisms Center (SMOC) provides you with model mice that have been raised under specific pathogen-free (SPF) barriers. Since obtaining AAALAC-accreditation in 2012, Shanghai Model Organisms Center Co., Ltd. has adhered to the standards outlined in the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals (Guide).

Cage Systems for Mice

Currently, Shanghai Model Organisms Center Co., Ltd uses 3 types of cage systems in the animal room: (1) SPF-barrier system with membrane cover and wood shavings bedding; (2) Individually ventilated cage (IVC) system with corncob bedding; (3) Isolation cage system with corncob bedding.

 

Drinking Water for Mice

Acidified water that has been autoclaved or purified by the filtration system, with pH between 2.5 and 3.

 

Feed for Mice

Irradiated breeding feed from Shanghai Laboratory Animal Center, CAS (SLACCAS).

 

Basic Entry/Exit Regulations for Items in the Animal Room

Cages, bedding and drinking water are replaced once a week. All dirty cages and water bottles can enter the animal room only after being cleaned and autoclaved. Other items that cannot be autoclaved shall be irradiated, UV-irradiated or sprayed with disinfectant reagents before entering the animal room.

 

Basic Entry and Operation Procedures for Staff in the Animal Room

All animal keepers and management personnel have been certified by Shanghai Laboratory Animal Center and entry to the animal room is only allowed for personnel who have completed the training of the organization.

Before entering the SPF area, personnel are required to change into the working clothes for feeding and professional work shoes in a separate area, and wear autoclaved working clothes, disposable sterile shoe covers, disposable sterile masks, hats and gloves in the  locker room of the SPF area.

The cage and drinking water are changed once a week. When the cages are replaced, the tweezers are immersed in a 75% alcohol cylinder for disinfection and the gloves of personnel are sprayed with disinfectant for spraying disinfection.

 

Monitoring Mice Health

The SPF-grade animal room uses sentinel animals for health monitoring, which is mainly carried out through the way the sentinels contact the dirty bedding. Bedding samples from more than 63 cages are placed in the sentinel cage, which houses 2 sentinel mice, for a period of 3 months. A self-evaluation is carried out every three months according to the national testing standards. At the same time, sentinel or random mice are randomly selected to be sent for testing by a third party. When customers have additional requests, we can breed sentinel mice in the same cage for more than 4 weeks before removing them for testing. We will also develop annual inspection plans to meet certain international standards.

Sentinel animals from all areas of the animal room undergo self-evaluation and are sent to a third party for inspection every 3 months. The inspection should adhere to the national inspection standards, which includes a total of 19 (+3) standards.

Compulsory items for the quarterly inspection include:

Salmonella, mycoplasma, corynebacterium kutscheri, Tyzzer's organism, pasteurella pneumophila, klebsiella pneumoniae, pseudomonas aeruginosa, staphylococcus aureus, poxvirus muris, murine hepatitis virus, sendai virus, pneumonia of mice virus, reoviridae, murine minute virus, ectoparasite, toxoplasma, worms, flagellates, ciliates, murine encephalomyelitis virus (partial areas), murine norovirus (partial areas), helicobacter pylori and corynebacterium bovis (partial areas).

Compulsory items for the annual inspection include:

  • Epizootic diarrhea of infant mice

  • Lymphocytic choriomeningitis

  • Murine minute virus (MPV1.2)

  • Encephalomyelitis virus

  • Murine adenovirus

Other tests:

  • Bacterial colony number per batch of mouse feed is determined and sent to a third party for testing once every six months according to mouse feed testing standards.

  • Heavy metal and pesticide residues in the mouse bedding are sent to a third party for testing once every six months.

  • Drinking water for the mice is sent to a third party for testing once a year according to national standards for drinking water.

  • Housing environment for mice is tested every three months.


Download third-party test reports and self-evaluation reports for each section of animal room

 

Quality Assurance

With an experienced team of veterinarians and researchers, advanced equipment, mature testing technologies and strict quality management system, SMOC guarantees consistent quality and is an ideal choice for your project.

In addition to monitoring the health of laboratory animals within our facility, SMOC also provides other supporting services to our customers. 


Popular Articles

Contact us Email Gene-editing proposal Gene-editing proposal Back to top Back to top

动物健康

您从南模生物订购的小鼠均饲养在SPF级的屏障系统内。上海南方模式生物科技股份有限公司自2012年获得国际AAALAC的资质的认证,动物福利均符合GUIDE的标准。南模生物兽医与质控团队拥有经验丰富的兽医与实验人员,配有先进的技术设备、成熟的检测技术与严格的质量管理体系,保证了南模生物产品的一贯品质,是您放心的选择。

订阅电子通讯

与最新模式生物资讯保持同步

资料下载

资料下载
下载资料

您从南模生物订购的小鼠均饲养在SPF级的屏障系统内。上海南方模式生物科技股份有限公司自2012年获得国际AAALAC的资质的认证,动物福利均符合GUIDE的标准。

 

小鼠的笼内环境

上海南方模式生物科技股份有限公司动物房目前有3种笼具系统:1)在SPF屏障环境中带有膜盖的笼具,配合木屑垫料;2)独立通风的IVC系统,采用细质玉米芯垫料;3)隔离包系统,采用细质玉米芯垫料。

 

小鼠的饮用水

高压灭菌后的酸化水或过滤系统净化后的酸化水,PH值在2.5-3之间。

 

小鼠的饲料

辐照后的斯莱康繁殖料。

 

动物房内物品进出基本守则

笼具、垫料及饮水的更换频率为每周一次。所有的脏笼具,水瓶清洗后,均经过高压灭菌后方可进入动物房,其他不能进行高压灭菌的物品则通过辐照、UV照射或喷洒消毒试剂的方式进入动物房内。

 

动物房内工作人员进入与操作基本守则

所有的动物房饲养人员及管理人员均已获得上海实验动物资格证,并在单位培训后才能进入动物房进行操作。

人员进入SPF区域前需要先在单独的区域更换饲养用工作服,和专业工作鞋,然后进入SPF区域更衣室内穿高压灭菌的工作服,一次性无菌鞋套,一次性的无菌口罩、帽子、手套。

每周更换一次笼具和饮水,每笼更换时镊子均浸泡在75%的酒精筒内消毒后使用,人员手套均需要喷洒消毒试剂进行喷洒消毒。

 

小鼠健康监测

SPF级动物房内饲养房间均通过哨兵动物进行健康监测,主要通过哨兵鼠接触脏垫料的方式为主要的监控方式,一笼哨兵动物(2只)一般接触63笼左右的小鼠的脏垫料,接触时间为3个月,每三个月按照国标检测项目进行自检,同时随机抽取区域中哨兵鼠或随机小鼠送第三方进行检测。对于客户有额外要求,可进行同笼饲养4w以上将哨兵鼠取出检测。对于国际上的部分指标我们会制定年检计划。

动物房内各个区域哨兵动物每3个月自检并送第三方检测验证一次。检测项目主要为国标必检项目,共计19(+3)项。

季度必检项目如下:

沙门氏菌,支原体,鼠棒状杆菌、泰泽病原体,嗜肺巴斯德杆菌、肺炎克雷伯杆菌,绿脓杆菌,金黄色葡萄球菌、鼠痘病毒,鼠肝炎病毒、仙台病毒、鼠肺炎病毒、呼肠孤三型病毒、鼠细小病毒、体外寄生虫、弓形虫、体内蠕虫、鞭毛虫、纤毛虫、鼠脑脊髓炎病毒(部分区域)、鼠诺罗病毒(部分区域)、鼠螺杆菌以及牛棒状杆菌(部分区域)。

年度必检项目如下:

  • 乳鼠腹泻病毒

  • 淋巴脉络丛脑炎病毒

  • 鼠细小病毒(MPV1.2)

  • 脑脊髓炎病毒

  • 鼠腺病毒

 

其它检测:

  • 小鼠饲料每批次菌落数检测,半年送第三方按照小鼠饲料检测标准进行检测一次。

  • 小鼠垫料的重金属及农药残留每半年送第三方检测一次。

  • 小鼠的饮用水按照国家饮用水标准每年送第三方检测一次。

  • 小鼠环境检测每三个月检测一次。


动物房各区域的第三方检测报告和自检情况报告下载 


品质保证

南模生物兽医与质控团队拥有经验丰富的兽医与实验人员,配有先进的技术设备、成熟的检测技术与严格的质量管理体系,保证了南模生物产品的一贯品质,是您放心的选择。

 

除保障南模生物设施内实验动物的健康检测外,还可为客户提供其它配套服务。详情请点击这里


半夏路基地《大小鼠生产许可证》下载

半夏路基地《小鼠使用许可证》下载

哈雷地基地《大鼠使用许可证》下载




热门文章

基因编辑可实现性别逆转?YES!

2018年8月份Science期刊上的文章“Sex reversal following deletion of a single distal enhancer of Sox9”,利用基因编辑的方法构建基因敲除小鼠发现,雄性小鼠Enh13基因缺失后会长出卵巢,并且利用基因组学的数据直接证明了Enh13是Sox9基因的增强子,揭示了改变基因的非编码调控区域能够实现性别逆转。

查看
【自闭症日】模型小鼠助力科学研究,让“星星的孩子”不再“孤独”

南模生物自主研发的Mecp2条件性基因敲除(Mecp2-CKO)小鼠模型,可用于研究MECP2的生理功能、MECP2基因有关的自闭症与瑞特综合征的治病机制和干预治疗。

查看
在线咨询 请拨打400 728 0660 模型定制方案 回到顶部