Gene Knockout

Accelerate your research with customized gene knockout mouse models that provide thorough insight into key genetic mechanisms.

Accelerate your research with customized gene knockout mouse models that provide thorough insight into key genetic mechanisms.


  • Uncover genetic functions and explore cellular processes

  • Develop in-depth understanding of pathogenesis and the prevention of disease

  • Simplify the evaluation of compounds in drug discovery


Gene knockout mouse models include::


Shanghai Model Organisms Center (SMOC) has more than 300 research-ready gene knockout mouse models and one of them may contain the gene that you are interested in. 

Alternatively, you may contact our technical consultants to design and customize your own gene knockout mouse model.




Conventional (Constitutive) Gene Knockout

Generate a conventional (constitutive) gene knockout (KO) mouse model to permanently inactivate your target gene.

It usually takes 4-6 months to generate a conventional (constitutive) gene knockout mouse model by CRISPR gene editing technology.

 image.png

Pre-designed synthetic sgRNAs and Cas9 mRNA are co-injected into mouse fertilized eggs. sgRNAs targeting specific loci in the genome will guide Cas9 enzyme to the locus and Cas9 nuclease will cut the target site. Non-homologous end joining (NHEJ) repair of this cut will cause coding sequence frameshift mutation via small insertions and deletions (indels) which results in gene(s) knockout. NHEJ repair is a random process and different repairs may result in different cells of the same mouse. F0 mice should be bred to obtain stably inherited gene knockout heterozygote mice.


It usually takes 7-12 months to generate a conventional (constitutive) gene knockout mouse model by ES cell targeting technology.

 image.png

A homologous recombination vector in which one or more exons of the target gene were replaced with a neomycin (Neo) gene was generated and transformed into ESC clones to obtain an ES clone in which homologous recombination occurred correctly. The targeted ES cells were injected into blastocysts injection to obtain a partial ES-derived chimeric mouse. The the chimeric mouse was mated with the wild type mice to finally obtain a heterozygous mouse derived from the recombinant ES cell. Specific exon(s) of target gene on one chromosome of heterozygous mice have been replaced by a Neo gene, and then homozygous mice with inactivated target gene were obtained by mating between heterozygous mice.



Conditional Gene Knockout

Conditional knockout (CKO) can be used to knock out a target gene of interest in temporal-specific or spatial-specific pattern, enabling more accurate gene knockout and more forcused research.

Conditional gene knockout is mainly achieved by site-specific recombinase systems such as Cre-LoxP, FLP-Frt and Dre-Rox. Amongst which, the Cre-LoxP system is the most frequently used method, whereby a LoxP sequence is placed at each end of a DNA sequence to be knocked out to generate a Flox (flanked by LoxP) mouse. Flox mice are crossed with Cre-expressing mice to obtain a mouse with tissue- or cell-specific knockout target gene.

Such Flox mice avoid embryonic or neonatal lethality that may occur in constitutive knockout mice. By  crossing with different Cre-expressing mice to generate offspring which can direct the expression or deletion of the target gene at any developmental stage or any specific cell type  of the experimental animal. Moreover, when combined with other inducible Cre systems, target gene can be temporally and spatially regulated simultaneously. The most widely used application is the Cre/ERT system.

It usually takes 6-9 months to generate a conditional gene knockout mouse model by CRISPR gene editing technology.

 image.png


It usually takes 9-12 months to generate a conditional gene knock-in mouse model by ES cell targeting technology.



 image.png



KO first

KO first (Conditional Ready) is a multipurpose model which is similar to the conditional knockout where LoxP sites with the same orientation flank the target fragment and the SA-IRES-reporter fragment flanked by FRT sites is placed within the 5' end intron. This type of mouse model has two main applications:

1) Mating with Cre-expressing mice results in the deletion of Neo gene and Flox region to generate reporter genes and knockout mice. As the reporter gene is expressed by the promoter of the target gene, expression of the target gene can be tracked by monitoring the expression levels of the reporter gene.

2) Mating with Flp-expressing mice results in the deletion of SA-IRES-reporter fragment to obtain conventional Flox mice. Flox mice are then mated with various tissue-specific Cre-expressing mice to obtain a range of conditional knockout models.


image.png



Popular Articles

Contact us Email Gene-editing proposal Gene-editing proposal Back to top Back to top

基因敲除

定制化的基因敲除小鼠模型有利于洞察关键遗传机制,加速您的研究。发现基因功能、了解疾病发病机制、推进药物研发进程。

利用定制化的基因敲除小鼠模型,洞察关键遗传机制,加速您的研究。

  • 发现基因功能,探索细胞过程

  • 深入了解疾病的发病机制与预防手段

  • 简化药物发现中的药效评估


基因敲除小鼠模型包括:


南模生物拥有逾300种基因敲除小鼠模型,也许您感兴趣的基因就在其中,点击查看成品小鼠模型资源库列表

您也可以联系我们的技术顾问,为您设计并定制您的基因敲除小鼠模型。




常规基因敲除

建立常规基因敲除(knockout,简称KO)小鼠模型,使您感兴趣的靶基因功能在小鼠所有细胞以及整个生命过程中永久缺失。

通过CRISPR基因编辑技术,构建一个常规基因敲除小鼠模型一般需要4-6个月。

 image.png


根据基因序列设计合成sgRNA与Cas9 mRNA共同注射到小鼠受精卵,Cas9核酸酶、 sgRNA、基因组靶序列结合并切割双链DNA ,通过非同源性末端接合(NHEJ)修复途径造成靶基因的移码突变或片段敲除,从而实现基因敲除。NHEJ修复是随机的,可能在同一小鼠体内不同细胞造成的修复结果不同,F0小鼠需要繁殖一代,获得稳定遗传的敲除杂合子小鼠。


通过ES细胞打靶技术,构建一个常规基因敲除小鼠模型一般需要7-12个月。

 image.png

构建以筛选基因新霉素(Neo)取代靶基因的一个或多个外显子的重组载体,转入ES细胞,获得正确发生同源重组的ES克隆。ES细胞进行囊胚注射,获得部分ES来源的嵌合鼠,嵌合鼠与野生型小鼠交配,最终获得来源于重组ES细胞的杂合子小鼠。杂合子小鼠一条染色体上的靶基因指定外显子被Neo基因所取代,杂合子交配获得靶基因失活的纯合子小鼠。



条件性基因敲除

利用条件性基因敲除(Conditional knockout,简称CKO),可以通过时间或组织特异性敲除您感兴趣的靶基因,实现更精准的基因敲除,进行更有针对性的研究。

条件性基因敲除主要是通过染色体位点特异性重组酶系统Cre-LoxP、 FLP-Frt和Dre-Rox来实现的。其中最为常用的是Cre-LoxP系统,在待敲除的一段目的DNA序列的两端各放置一个LoxP序列,得到Flox (Flanked by loxP) 小鼠。将Flox小鼠与特异性表达Cre的工具鼠交配,即可获得具有组织或细胞特异性敲除目的基因的小鼠。

这样的Flox小鼠避免了全身敲除小鼠可能出现的胚胎或新生致死,并且与不同的Cre工具鼠组合,可以使目的基因的表达或缺失发生在实验动物发育的任一阶段或组织器官。此外,若与控制Cre表达的其他诱导系统相结合,还可以对某一基因同时实现时空两方面的调控,应用最为广泛的是Cre/ERT系统。


通过CRISPR基因编辑技术,构建一个条件性基因敲除小鼠模型一般需要6-9个月。

 image.png


通过ES细胞打靶技术,构建一个条件性基因敲除小鼠模型一般需要9-12个月。



 image.png



KO first

KO first (Conditional Ready)是一种多用途的模型,与条件敲除策略类似,在目的片段的两侧分别放置方向相同的LoxP位点,同时还在靶片段5’端内含子中放置一个两侧带有FRT位点的SA-IRES-reporter片段。这类小鼠模型主要有两方面用途:

1) 与Cre工具鼠交配可去除Neo基因及Flox区域,成为报告基因(reporter)和基因剔除小鼠,用靶基因的启动子表达reporter基因,通过检测reporter基因的表达即可跟踪靶基因的表达情况;

2) 与Flp工具鼠交配可去除SA-IRES-reporter片段,得到常规的Flox小鼠。而Flox小鼠与各种组织特异的Cre工具鼠交配即可得到各种条件型敲除模型。


image.png



热门文章

Nature Medicine | 更精准的谱系示踪技术问世

2017年11月13日,Nature Medicine 在线发表了中国科学院生物化学与细胞生物学研究所周斌研究组的科研成果“Enhancing the precision of genetic lineage tracing using dual recombinases ”。该研究将 Dre-rox 重组系统引入到传统的基于 Cre-loxP 重组系统的遗传谱系示踪技术中,有效地规避了由于 Cre 表达的不特异性而导致的非特异性(“异位”)同源重组,实现了更为精准的遗传谱系示踪,为发育、干细胞及再生等领域的深入研究奠定了可靠的技术基础。上海南方模式生物作为共同作者单位,为该研究构建了10种小鼠模型:IR1, IR2, NR1, NR2, CAG-DreER, Tnni3-Dre, Tnnt2-Dre, Alb-CreER, CK19-Dre 和 Alb-DreER。

查看
Circulation | 利用DeaLT技术揭示成人心肌细胞再生的来源

4月26日,国际学术期刊Circulation在线发表了中国科学院生物化学与细胞生物学研究所周斌研究组的研究成果“Genetic Lineage Tracing of Non-myocyte Population by Dual Recombinases”。

查看
在线咨询 请拨打400 728 0660 模型定制方案 回到顶部